PDA

View Full Version : Fey Encounters

feng shui
2014-01-10, 12:09 PM
Fey has always seemed to be an underutilized component in games. I've been playing for quite a few years now and can't recall them ever coming up in a campaign. What experiences do you have with fey in your games? Whether it's a single encounter or a major part of a campaign what are your favorite uses of fey?

AlanBruce
2014-01-10, 12:46 PM
As a DM, I just finished a huge arc with fey as being plot centric.

I had the party travel for almost a month in an ancient Fey forest strongly connected to the Summer and Winter Courts. That meant that both faction representatives lived there- with the Summer Court having predominance. The Summer Courts were represented by two elder dryads- both having some bard levels (to be able to tell the ancient fey lore) and then druid and wu jen levels, depending on their coven.

The Winter Court had a sole representative- a noble glaistig mindbender/sorcerer who was somewhat of a bogeyman in the woods and had become a recluse in her own lake, deep in the woods.

As far as the fey went, they were sometimes played as reclusive, trickster like, helpful, or, depending where the party was, downright aggressive.

The most common encounters the group had with fey (since animals and monstrous vermin also lived in this forest), were joystealers (I had a huge background foreshadowing story about why they were that way in my campaign), Redcaps, Forest trolls and the regular trolls (all with class levels and, although not "fey" according to the MM, they are part of faerie lore elsewhere).

Petals played a big part as well- as allies, except for one rebel Petal who is, so far, still at large and causing mayhem in the woods with her gang of goblins and giants.

Enchanted garden with flowers tended by the fey that give off status effects if the unwary PC wanders too close.

Swamps with mad druids and a few bog imps.