PDA

View Full Version : Simple Psionic Archer

Xhosant
2014-01-11, 01:16 PM
I need help with a build, roughly tier 3 in power, that is mainly an archer with psionics on top of it.

When I say archer, I mean it: No sowlbow, no crossbows, no acid arrow getting launched by one's hand. I need a literal psionic-powered longbow archer, the kind of build to be used by a first-timer. If proficiencies are an issue, I'll tweak them into the first class of the build, so no worries (I'm the GM of the game). Try to keep the class count at 3 and under, or as close to it as possible.

EDIT: Apparently, I got it narrowed down to PsyWar archer and PsyRogue. Thoughts?

Glimbur
2014-01-11, 01:50 PM
By 'Psion', do you mean the class, or someone that uses psionics? Psy-warrior has 3/4 BAB, which is better than 1/2 BAB from Psion, and it is still psychic. I'm no expert on psionics, but I would guess that you can pick powers to support archery. And it gets all martial weapon proficiencies, so you can just go Psywar 20.

Vaz
2014-01-11, 01:59 PM
Can't go far wrong with PsyWar or Elf/Aasimar Wilder for that.

Emperor Tippy
2014-01-11, 02:13 PM
Gray Elf Factotum 8/ Ardent 2/ Targetteer Fighter 1/ Decisive Strike Invisible Fist Martial Monk 9

Probably put the levels as Factotum 1/ Martial Monk 2/ Targetteer Fighter 1/ Ardent 1/ Factotum 7/ Ardent 1/ Martial Monk 7.

Critical feats are Kung Fu Genius, Practiced Spell Caster, Practiced Manifester, and Psiotheurgist. KFG needs to be taken before Monk 1 so you might want to flip that with Targetteer Fighter so that Monk 1 falls on ECL 3.

Magic Mantle lets PS and PM both be dumped onto the Ardent. Psiotheurgist lets you dump your Factotum CL onto Ardent which, if done before Ardent 2 lets you get an ML of 18 and thus take 9th level powers.

Use Psychic Chiguery to move archery relevant spells and powers onto your powers known list and use Bestow Power + Midnight Augmentation to make up for your abysmal number of power points.