PDA

View Full Version : Re-learning D&D, new to 3.5e

thud
2014-01-13, 12:22 PM
I've recently gotten interested in D&D again after a very long hiatus (last game was 2nd edition in '94). I'm learning the 3.5e system slowly, but I'm wondering if it's possible to develop a campaign for just a DM and 1 player that would be more than just a string of minor random encounters. My wife is interested in playing again also, but her last game was probably in the mid-80's (1st edition, not sure if it was AD&D or Basic rules.).

All our gaming buddies have either moved away or lost contact, and we don't know enough people locally who'd have enough time or enough interest to get a campaign going in-person.

I have no experience as a DM, but I'd like to develop an Eberron campaign starting in the Eldeen Reaches (Druid/Ranger-centric in the beginning) and expand from there, eventually involving aberrations. I was going to start off with Forgotten Forge, but since she's more interested in playing a Druid, I figured the Reaches would be a better starting point, even if it involves a LOT more work developing the storyline/setting on my part. Would also help to be familiar enough with the 3.5 system to be able to run a game (of course), so I'm working on that. I'm approaching this more as a creative pursuit, so I'm hoping I can do this with an eye more toward roleplaying/storytelling than getting bogged down in game mechanics/optimizing/rules lawyering/powergaming, at least for the time being.

I've already received a suggestion to try PbP, so I'm looking into that as well, but my job requires me to be on the road for 4-8 weeks at a time, long hours with not much time or energy for anything aside from a shower, quick meal, and sleep during off-hours, so it would be kinda hard to mantain a regular campaign, even with PbP. Still, I'm up for it in between hitches.

Any suggestions are welcome.

Palanan
2014-01-13, 12:47 PM
That sounds like a brutal job schedule. You do pipeline work?