PDA

View Full Version : Self Taught Wizardry

Walkwalk
2014-01-15, 04:06 PM
So this question technically applies more to D&D 2nd Edition than third, but it's applicable across the board really.

So one of my party members in a 2nd edition game just died. He was an Enchanter, and he got gibbed. Not a huge issue, since he just rolled up a new character (a Paladin), we met up with him and that was that. Unfortunately, this left us short a Mage, so I agreed to dual class from a Fighter to a Mage.

The only thing is, we're pretty much out in the wilderness right now, and I'm not entirely sure how to fluff this. My character's origins were a library where it's possible that he could have touched on the basics of magic before, and he did have prior contact with a fairly skilled magic user. It's just that it never came up before this point, so it feels kind of awkward bringing it up out of the blue.

On the other hand, his INT is 18 (Randomised rolling after you've already picked a class is amusing), and so it's not impossible to think of him being able to get started with just a bit of experience of watching mages work and a healthy collection of scrolls.

Any thoughts?

Reinkai
2014-01-15, 04:12 PM
Any chance you have access to the gibbed mage's spell book or journal or the like?

Walkwalk
2014-01-15, 04:16 PM
Any chance you have access to the gibbed mage's spell book or journal or the like?

Depends. Let's just see what that troll has to say.

He says no.

We do have a spare spellbook in the party bag, but it's entirely empty. That'd be what I'm going to be using.

Segev
2014-01-15, 04:25 PM
As you've noted, fluff is the only obstacle, here.

If this was a 3e or PF game, I'd suggest sorcerer; it's less optimal overall, perhaps, but would easily fit a "suddenly, I have magic!" development.

But since this is 2e...