PDA

View Full Version : What Makes A Good Game?

FyreHeart
2014-01-19, 09:42 AM
Please post your opinions.

So I am (hopefully) going to be running a campaign soon of a game I am working on right now, but it is my first time ever running one: Ive been a player of numerous games so far but this is the first game I will be running for others.

I don't want to make this gaming experience boring and unexciting for everyone, so I want to ask you guys: what do you think a good game has in it?

Slipperychicken
2014-01-19, 10:04 AM
inb4 Fun is all you need.

Angel Bob
2014-01-19, 10:54 AM
Well, obviously, different people find fun in different things. The best thing to do would be not to ask the Playground, but to ask the players. :smallwink:

Rhynn
2014-01-19, 11:31 AM
I'm going to assume the question is something like "what methods of running a game are more likely than average to result in fun, all other things (e.g. game system) being equal" ...

Player & PC agency. The players get to decide what to do and where and when and how, and their actions and decision affect the outcomes of the scenarios and the story created, for good or for ill (that is, they can win or lose). This extends even to directing the GM in developing certain regions, plot hooks, and characters that the players show interest in.

Consequences. This dovetails with the above. Actions have consequences, for good or ill, and the players can see them in the gameworld. They can change things (on a scale appropriate to the focus of the game).

Interesting & engaging world. This involves both of the above, but basically, the world has to grab the players' interest, and have sufficient depth of the right kind to draw them in. Being reactive helps, but feeling real or plausible (even if it's fantasy or scifi) is a big part of this, too.

Actana
2014-01-19, 11:42 AM