View Full Version : Maximum spell level and metamagic feats?

2007-01-23, 06:49 PM
All right, theoretical scenario. Say you have a caster with 14 in their casting stat.

Say also that they have sufficient class levels to cast 5'th level spells if they had a higher casting stat.

Can that caster use 5'th level slots for metamagicked lower-level spells, or can they simply not access the spell slots at all?

2007-01-23, 06:55 PM
I've seen an NPC caster who did this, but Wizards isn't really known for applying the rules correctly, so take this with a grain of salt.

2007-01-23, 07:18 PM
To cast a spell, the caster must have an ability score of 10 + the spell's level, not 10 + the level of the spell slot used. A wizard of sufficient level with 14 intelligence could cast a Maximized Scorching Ray because the spell's level is 2 and his intelligence is at least 12. He could not cast a Fireball Heightened to 5th level, however, as that particular metamagic feat actually does change the spell's level.

2007-01-24, 07:32 AM
Yes indeed. Spell Slots are a function of level, not Primary Casting Attribute (apart from the bonus ones, obviously).

2007-01-24, 08:03 AM
Well, sounds great. I think I have the starts of my next character concept now.