PDA

View Full Version : Character Creation Help Plz

warrior80
2014-02-01, 04:09 PM
Okay so I am new to 3.5 but have a character idea in mind that I would like to build in some fashion I just don't know how to accomplish it. So I turn to you gurus in this time of need.

Idea: "Shadow Ranger" (for lack of better term) :smallsmile:
Concept: Basically will use a bow to deliver damage from range magic arrows(shadow arrows are what I image). When a creature enters spaces adjacent to him, character will teleport/blink through the shadows to evade him and return to range. Use other "shadow" illusionary tricks to keep enemy confused and what not. Perhaps cast a "Rain of Arrows/Volley" attack and other archer like things.

I like the idea of illusionary tricks/shadow play to keep my character safe. I had the idea of using mirror image to help confuse the enemy and other such illusions. Idk how Ranger/Bard or Sorc would mesh though. Like I said I am a complete noob here.

I also don't know if I should mainly look to be more of a scout/survivalist or a trap-monkey. I think the scout/survival aspect would probably fit in a little better with my backstory I am imaging but I like the idea of never hitting a trap as welll.

Ideas on classes and feats to take and races to use, alignment, etc. would be extremely helpful. Right now I am thinking either Human or Elf (Bow class standard).

I currently have only began to dive into the books but my knowledge is so minimal that any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Current Party (LE Cleric, CG Swashbuckler/Fighter, CG Warmage (Warblade? I confuse the titles), LG Monk)

hicegetraenk
2014-02-01, 04:23 PM
Usually for archery I'd suggest human simply because it's feat heavy character route.

Shadowdancer is a prestige class that somewhat fits the flavor of your idea. Gets hiding in plain sight, which is always nice, and shadow step, which is a mini dimension door through shadows. Very limited uses per day though if I remember correctly.