PDA

View Full Version : [3.5] Halfling Outrider and Special Mount/Animal Companion stacking?

Arowanna
2014-02-05, 12:39 PM
Greetings!

TL;DR
Does Halfling Outrider really stack with both the Special Mount and Animal Companion? Is there an errata or official words from Wizards of the Coast (as stated here (http://forum.rpg.net/showthread.php?313721-D-amp-D-Abusing-the-system&p=6994867#post6994867)) that it actually works this way? Or is this just another case of "open for interpretation, because of the vagueness of the text", or even "DM will have to set the rules for this"?

Full Post
A few days ago, one of my friends began building a mount focused character, and being intrigued by the idea of a "knight", I started playing around with the concept. I am rather new to D&D, so I started looking for mount focused PrCs and found the "Halfling Outrider" and the first thing that struck me was this:

/.../ Halfling outrider class levels stack with paladin, druid, and ranger levels for determining the characteristics of a paladin’s mount or an animal companion.
The idea of stacking the Special Mount and the Animal Companion sounded great, if I could find away to do it. And of course, after some Google searches I found the Devoted Tracker feat, kept evolving the build and in the end, I also found the "Übermount/Supermount"-exploit build.

Here's my problem, I presented my build to my friends and we immediately ended up in a conflict regarding the stacking gained from the Halfling Outrider. They interpret the rules like this:
- They clearly state OR at the end of the paragraph, meaning you've to choose if you want increase the HD of your Animal Companion or Special Mount; not both.
I on the other hand got stuck at the start of the paragraph, "Halfling outrider class levels STACK with paladin, druid, AND ranger levels", and to me, that means that it increases both the Special Mount and Animal Companion HD.