PDA

View Full Version : Swashbuckler?

Teapot Salty
2014-02-05, 08:57 PM
Hey guys, I'm a fairly new player and I took a look at the swashbuckler. It looks pretty cool, but I was wondering how good it is. I checked it out and I wanted to know what you guys thought of it. Is it good, terrible or somewhere between?
And please, no super optimized builds or anything, I'm a noob and either won't understand them, or my dm will reject them, or both. That aside, everything else is much appreciated. (although stuff along the lines of, "always use this feat and max out this stat" are much welcomed)

Fax Celestis
2014-02-05, 09:04 PM
It's okay in the right mindset. I would say the only two musts are exotic weapon proficiency for eleven court blade and three levels of rogue with Daring Outlaw.

Tar Palantir
2014-02-05, 09:04 PM
Swashbuckler can be good if (and pretty much only if) you pick up the feat Daring Outlaw from Complete Scoundrel. It lets you stack your levels of rogue and swashbuckler for the purpose of determining sneak attack dice, grace, and swashbuckler dodge. The typical build, if I recall correctly, is Rogue 4/Swash 16 (often grabbing Swash 1 early for the free Weapon Finesse), and it basically gives you a rogues sneak attack on a better combat chassis, losing out on some of the skill monkey bits. Simple, solid, and perfectly reasonable for a new player who wants something good but not gamebreaking.

Teapot Salty
2014-02-05, 09:20 PM
Thanks a lot guys, It's really helpful, never would have even considered daring outlaw.

Dread_Head
2014-02-05, 09:24 PM