PDA

View Full Version : 3.5 Melee Incarnate?

Vrock_Summoner
2014-02-15, 02:48 AM
Hey, guys! Today I come to you in need of some advice. See, I'm about to play in a game that uses Incarnum and ToB and is otherwise mostly devoid of anything that could be considered magic (with a special exception for magical beasties, to avoid Totemists being up a creek). Problem is, although I've read the book through, it's my first time using it and I don't really know how to be effective at all.

I'm wanting to play a melee-focused character, but although the DM houseruled that they get bonus Incarnum feats every other level, Soulborn still kind of suck, and the flavor isn't there for me at all. I want to play a true warrior of Incarnum, who at the peak points of his power is donning his entire body in his Soulmelds, including his weapon and armor which he'll likely invest essentia into abilities to improve. Naturally, the most fitting choice was an Incarnate despite their low BAB.

... Except I haven't the faintest clue how to not suck in this role. Like, at all. I've never been even so much as decent at system mastery, and now I'm using materials I have basically no experience with.

So, what do I do to be a good melee Incarnate? Most sources are open, but note that Evil alignments are banned. Not that the Evil Incarnate's additional ability is all that great, but aside from the free movement speed it's the best alignment for a melee type. We're starting at level 1. I need to be able to hold my own alongside what I assume will be decently well-played characters of the pinnacle melee classes (ToB is allowed after all :smalleek:) but I'd like to stay true to my concept (even if said concept isn't exactly original.

Chosen Soulmelds, feats, best chakra binds, build... Halp?

gorfnab
2014-02-15, 03:26 AM
These may be of some help
Incarnum Handbook (http://www.minmaxboards.com/index.php?topic=576)
Incarnate Handbook (http://www.minmaxboards.com/index.php?topic=580.0)