PDA

View Full Version : Superhero Mutants and Masterminds: Learning the Ropes

Coidzor
2014-02-16, 05:13 AM
I'm potentially joining a Mutants and Masterminds game soon and will be playing with a number of new players and a couple of people who have played before of unknown experience(aside from one of the players having GM'd before). I'm completely new to the system aside from knowing that it's based on the d20 mechanic and is reputed to be capable of approximating a more balanced version of D&D 3E. So any heads up about potential traps and pitfalls, especially for someone coming from a background of having mostly played D&D 3.X/PF and a smattering of decidedly non-d20 systems.

Right now I'm thinking some kind of combination Luchador/Magical Girl(or should it be Super Sentai? Henshin Hero?) idea. Any suggestions for things to look out for or to consider on that front would be appreciated. I think I heard something about grappling being tricky to accomplish, though more streamlined than either D&D 3.5 or Pathfinder's takes on the subject.

I'm basically drawing inspiration from Guacamelee (http://youtu.be/2bzpRc-GBd4?t=3m46s) and Mucha Lucha (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FUnurwA92ik) right now. Potentially this (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-Z7UnO66q9w)as well, but I could take that or leave it.

Beleriphon
2014-02-16, 08:35 PM
So any heads up about potential traps and pitfalls, especially for someone coming from a background of having mostly played D&D 3.X/PF and a smattering of decidedly non-d20 systems.

The game is effects based. If you find an effect that does 90% of what you want use that. For example you might be inclined to use Create to produce a tangling vine, but the better choice is going to be Affliction.