PDA

View Full Version : Craft Wondrous Item musings

Isomenes
2007-01-29, 01:00 PM
I'm trying to get a handle on the breakdown of costs for magical items, but I'm somewhat new to the mechanics of the SRD. Specifically, I'm getting confused by the variability of caster level for potions, scrolls and wands in contrast to fixed caster level for rods, staves, rings, and other wondrous items. For a wondrous item, is caster level determined by the minimum level needed to cast a given spell, or by the caster level of the creator at the time of creation? Can the caster cast the spell during creation at a lower level and thereby change the caster level?

Purely as an example, I created an amulet of Light. The price breakdown I understand runs as follows:

PC Wizard, CL 6th
Use-activated item: Spell level x CL x 2,000gp

light: 0.5 x 6 x 2,000gp = 6,000gp
50 charges (half base price) = 3,000gp

But couldn't it be

light: 0.5 x 1 x 2,000gp = 1,000gp
50 charges (half base price) = 500gp

if the caster cast the spell at 1st level? The variable effects would be those of a 1st-level caster, so the duration would be ten minutes per use. Not very useful insofar as a light spell goes, but it serves both as an example of ways to make magic items more accessible, and how they limit themselves in doing so. Does this make sense?

Also, is anyone else completely unimpressed with the rationalization about potions in the Complete Arcane (that they are the most effective form of delivering magical energy, perfected over hundreds of years)? Due to the rules for Craft and magical item creation, potion tiles and the like seem essentially out of reach for practical use until at least 20th--this should not be the case.