PDA

View Full Version : Power Attack Feat - D&D 3.5 n00b

dcook22
2014-02-17, 07:52 PM
Hey folks,

I just started playing in a D&D 3.5 campaign for the first time. The last time I played D&D, there were thac0's and AC was a negative number.

Anyway...I am having an issue understanding the Power Attack Feat in the PHB.

I know Power attack allows me to take numbers from my BAB and apply them to damage when I hit with a melee attack. I am confused by the application of two parts of the feat description.

1. The amount of BAB being applied to damage must be stated before the attack is made

2. This amount is subtratced from each attack (applies to all melee attacks), but the amount cannot exceed your BAB.

So to illustrate my confusion, let's assume a 7th level fighter with +7/+2 BAB, and let's assume a one handed melee attack with a longsword with no modifiers for weapons, strength, or feats. Let's say the fighter wanted to add 7 points of damage to each melee attack as is allowed by the feat. Which of the following would happen?

a. He attacks at +0/-5 because he subtracts 7 from each attack to gain the +7 damage to each attack, and would in fact add 7 points of damage to each attack if he hits.

b. He attacks at +0/+0 but adds 7 damage to the first attack if he hits and adds only 2 damage if he should hit on the second attack. This resutling from him not being able to add more than his BAB to each attack, and his BAB is different for each attack.

I guess I am asking because it looks like the fighter would suffer significant losses to his ability to hit on later attacks if he attempts to apply his maximum damage to his first attack.

Can one of you long-time players clarify this for me?

Thanks!

Dan

p.s. Any illustrative examples would be great.

OldTrees1
2014-02-17, 07:57 PM
"a" is the correct description.

Base Attack Bonus of +7 gives you 1 attack at +7 attack bonus and 1 attack at +2 attack bonus.