PDA

View Full Version : Handling PF kingdom building in other games, dealing with death in survival

Dramiscius
2014-02-19, 03:17 AM
So im relatively new to dming (though i've been playing on and off for years) the long and the short of it is I recently begun the group on Rappan Athuk, after they got tpk'd near the end of book 3 Way of the Wicked (great AP).

Anyway, in RA there's not really any cities close by to use for aquiring magic items outside of what you come across while adventuring in the area. So one of my players want's to start building a settlement. I'm still debating on it as I haven't gotten into tackling that stuff (and frankly, im not really excited about the book keeping involved in it).

RP wise, there's a good reason why there's no cities near this place, the nearby outpost is a hole in the wall with probably less then 30-40 people.

Also, I kinda think the scarcity of magic gear is supposed to be part of this particular mega dungeons challenge.

So im still weighing telling them flat out no to the whole settlement building thing (at least on a large scale, if they want to turn a gnoll fort they conquered into a base of operations and hire some mercs to protect it that's perfectly fine). I think what's really going on (knowing the particular player/dm for a long time) is that he wants to get around having to take magic item creation feats. So im thinking outpost, ok, kingdom (unless they conquer the dungeon in its entirety, by which point the game would be over anyway).

Any opinions on the matter are welcome, I'd like to see how other people handle these (or might handle) these kinda situations.