PDA

View Full Version : 3.5 Dread Necromancer Beginner

yoshi67
2014-03-02, 01:13 AM
I'm fairly new to DnD but I've played a few games. I've read just about everything I can and have almost all the "official" 3.5 books loaned to me by various people. I'm tired of playing easy but boring melee characters and the Dread Necromancer sounds so much fun. Problem is I haven't really done too much with spellcasters (apart from a Ranger). I understand how it works for various classes, and thought a Necro with it's limited but powerful spell list and casting without prep would be a great starting point, especially with already mentioned cool factor. So my questions are:

Most other people I play with are more experienced but usually play tier 4 or 5 classes and we never really optimize. I thought since I wouldn't be optimizing and plan on playing a full lvl 1-20 Necro that it shouldn't throw off the balance. Thoughts?

The campaigns we have played so far are neutral. No "Rescue the Maiden" good stuff, but no "Kill everyone and loot everything" evil either. Usually item retrieval or fight for someone who pays. We play primarily in Faerun, but just wondering how a Necro might fit in. I figure an army of undead is pretty useful in a lot of situations, just might have to come up with a decent backstory to place him in the group. Thoughts?

Kinda having to do with the above, does the Necro really depend on seeing a lot of undead? We see some in dungeons, but rarely when venturing "above ground". Seems like Rebuke and Command undead would be more effective if that's what were fighting. I assume from reading that I can summon undead pretty easily, and most enemy bodies' can be Animated, so is a Necro still effective if we end up in a massive war with humans, or orcs?