PDA

View Full Version : Druid, Pirate.

TimeWizard
2007-01-31, 11:52 PM
My new DM is starting up a pirate campaign inspired by One Peice. This essentially means we travel the sea looking for adventure, treasure, and villians to beat up instead of plundering and being bad people. Good for a first time DM.

I've decided to roll up a water based Druid, but I have no experience playing one, so I turn to you folks for help. It seems that Druids have three options to choose from: A) Emphasis on Spellcasting B) Shapeshifting C) Pets**. Are any of these noticably more/less powerful? What combination of Race/PrC's best serves each goal? Assume I have access to anything 3rd edition.

Also, I'm NOT looking for the most optimal character, I'm looking for fun. Besides, I'm playing with some new players and I don't want them to be overshadowed.

** Not really sold on the beast master approach. But if anyone could present a compelling argument I'm more then willing to listen.

Dairun Cates
2007-01-31, 11:59 PM
I'd first like to state that there are better systems in my opinion for pirate campaigns. D&D just doesn't always seem to do them well. Still I doubt I'll change your GM's mind on system so...

Well, for power, you're supposed to combine the shapeshifting and spell throwing, but if we're talking over the top pirate adventure here, I'd say the druid's not really the best class. Still, if you want to go druid, I'd almost say the spell-casting route is better unless you want to be able to turn into a dolphin.

Person_Man
2007-02-01, 12:04 AM
Just being a strait Druid is quite potent and fun. They're versitile enough that you don't have to go into a prestige class and emphasize one set of abilities over any other.

Also, if your DM hasn't already done so, he should pick up Stormwrack. It's an excellent book all about adventuring on the high seas. It's one of my favorites.

Bears With Lasers
2007-02-01, 12:08 AM