PDA

View Full Version : The DM's best laid plans...

Immabozo
2014-03-21, 11:47 PM
So I am in a game and the DM throws us into a situation with the town "hero" hiring us as backup to cover his back while he fights a lich. I think the lich is an important plot character.

So we kill the lich's backup and the hero comes back to us and says the lich is dead. The lich then attacks our party, crawling up the hall like anikin crawling away from the lava after he catches fire, after obi-wan cuts off his legs at the knees.

We then attack the lich, who was at like 2 hp and "dropped" after melting the hero who hired us.

The DM calls for a know. (religion) check and then reminds us that he will come back and the only way to kill him is to destroy his phylactary.

So after thinking, as a Psion, I manifest Psionic Plane Shift, which can send the target to another dimension, in addition to another plane.

I am no expert on arcane spells, but I do not recall reading any arcane power that can cross dimensions. So the lich isn't dead, I just dont think he can get back to us.

So what have you done to the DM's best laid plains?

Inevitability
2014-03-22, 01:14 AM
Ahem. (http://www.d20srd.org/srd/spells/planeShift.htm)

Zytil
2014-03-22, 01:33 AM
I could be wrong, but don't liches regenerate at their phylactery anyway? Rendering the whole plane shifting thing moot?

Immabozo
2014-03-22, 01:36 AM
I could be wrong, but don't liches regenerate at their phylactery anyway? Rendering the whole plane shifting thing moot?

Do they? Thats unfortunate

Immabozo
2014-03-22, 01:38 AM
Ahem. (http://www.d20srd.org/srd/spells/planeShift.htm)

damn. Well I didn't know that! Like I said, I am no spell effects master. Never played a spellcaster, and this is my first psion

Bobbyjackcorn
2014-03-22, 02:24 AM
I must say, this was entertaining to read if nothing else than because of the very brief responses.