PDA

View Full Version : Q: Help me optimize my Dread Necromancer please?

Dalkael
2014-03-31, 12:35 PM
Hi there. Been browsing these forums for quite some time now, and I must say you seem to be an incredibly knowledgeable bunch. I recently started playing D&D 3.5, a few months ago, and have been having a blast. I've played various types of classes, but never a caster.

So recently I was given the opportunity to join in an evil campaign that has been running for some time, which means I'll be starting at lvl 18. I wanted to play a necromancer of some sorts, and fell in love with the Dread Necromancer. It suits my character perfectly. However, all the builds I've found seem to focus on how the DN is best for controlling large amounts of undead, whereas I prefer to have a few high quality undead. Is it so bad that I should basically change my class, or can the DN be used anyhow?

I've given building the character a shot, though this is still without items. I have quite a bit of gold to spend, though the exact amount I've forgotten. In any case, this is my build so far without any items added:

Lady Jayne (human female, DN 18)
Abilities
Str: 8
Dex: 16
Con: 8
Int: 12
Wis: 10
Cha: 22

I decided that since I'm going pure DN, and starting at lvl 18, I don't really need to worry about Con for the remaining 2 lvls, which is also why I didn't take Tomb-Tainted Soul in the feat list.

Feats:
Corpsecrafter
Fell Drain
Fell Frighten
Fell Animate
Leadership (?)
Nimble Bones
Practical Metamagic (Fell Frighten)
Practical Metamagic (Fell Drain)

As for the feats, I'm quite open to changes. My goal is to have a powerful spellcaster using necromancy, with several hardcore minions. Another reason for me using the PMM feats, is I've managed to talk my DM into letting me have a slaymate.

Advanced Learning:
For now, I've jotted down the following spells:
4. Kelgore's Grave Mist
8. Undead Lieutenant
12. Aura of Terror
16. Awaken Undead