PDA

View Full Version : Player Help How to be a Bow user?

Kamaei
2014-04-04, 03:11 AM
((Going to say sorry ahead of time for all the questions I will be asking because I have no knowledge when it comes to ranged combat or classes.))

I am going to be entering a campaign as a level 9 but we are required to be a race that has a level adjustment +1, so my class level will be 8, class undecided. My idea for what i want to do is to focus in ranged attacks and eventually purchasing a Force Bow as my main weapon. The race I was leaning towards was Empty Vessel simply because it is the only race that appeared remotely human, besides Aasimar, with a level adjustment. Should I be ranger since they are the natural bow class or should I go towards psionic because of the empty vessel race, or just not be that race and instead be catfolk or goliath?

I've already looked at the Archery (http://brilliantgameologists.com/boards/index.php?topic=642.0) Handbook and doesn't say anything about classes or races...

JeminiZero
2014-04-04, 03:35 AM
For LA+1, Feytouched (https://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/sp/20040213a) can also look human (or at least Elven).

As far as class goes, the easiest ranged attack class out of the box is probably the Warlock, so you might want to consider that as well.

What is the rest of the party playing? That might give us some insight as to whether there are any particular shortfalls, as well as what tier you should be aiming for.

NoACWarrior
2014-04-04, 03:39 AM
For the +1 LA, is it good enough to choose a +0 and apply a +1 template?

I'd also agree with Jemini, Warlock is very easy to use ootb.
Also at higher levels (as long as you max out UMD) you can use wands with relative ease and supplement your flexibility and survivability.

Kamaei
2014-04-04, 04:00 AM
For LA+1, Feytouched (https://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/sp/20040213a) can also look human (or at least Elven).