PDA

View Full Version : Tome of Battle/Path of War Thoughts

ArendK
2014-04-19, 08:01 AM
*Sighs*

Maybe this is just a pointless ramble, but here's my two cents on a subject that is largely irrelevant. I've been gaming solidly and dedicatedly for about 10 years now. I started with an old-school 2nd Edition group, dabbled in 1st, then popped up to 3.5. And with it, and me actually paying attention to gaming forums, I've noticed a trend.

In 1st/2nd edition, there was a trend. As my uncle and my original mentor to the game put it; "In First Edition, there are rules for making characters, and rules for killing characters. Take that for what it's worth, but it is what it is."
Second edition got rule heavy (Combat and Tactics book anyone?), then I picked up 3rd edition, and saw how it did more of it's own thing. 3.5/Pathfinder and 4e followed, and I've gotten to see these games evolve.

This is just my thought as far as balance/issues.
In the early editions, there were no bones to be made of it; at low levels, a caster surviving to the next level was a bloody miracle or showcase of skill. Physical types dominated the battlefield with ease. Why? Because there isn't much more to it than "I hit stuff." However, as the game goes on and everyone starts getting levels, the focus always changed. It became the inverse; Casters were now the shining focus, and physical types were struggling to keep up.
To me, that was how it should always be. Struggle in the early levels to get to thrive later on. If I wanted them to be balanced against each other level for level, I'd fire up WoW or 4e (nothing against them, just personal preference).

Then I really started looking at the Tome of Battle. Not going to lie, I initially took a look at it years ago and my reaction was more akin to Gollum and the elven rope...