PDA

View Full Version : Can you lower your stat base in a point buy?

Gnomes2169
2014-04-27, 04:05 PM
I have a DM who says that you cannot, citing that the DMG does not allow you to do so, but every point buy calculator I've found gives me the option to lower my stats from their base 8. Is there an official ruling on this somewhere or errata that I might be missing? And if so, could a link be provided?

Siosilvar
2014-04-27, 04:07 PM
Your DM is correct in that it's not allowed by default. Those are usually provided for the house ruled option to do so or for calculating the point buy equivalent of rolled stats.

JusticeZero
2014-04-27, 06:34 PM
It's not allowed by default. If I were to allow it, i'd make it have an abysmal rate of return; i've had lots of bad experiences with heavy disadvantage systems of all kinds.

peacenlove
2014-04-29, 09:56 AM
In Pathfinder (http://www.d20pfsrd.com/basics-ability-scores/ability-scores)you can reduce your stats to 7
A similar approximation could be made as a houserule for 3.5.

Slipperychicken
2014-04-29, 11:31 AM
Racial penalties can drop you under the base level.

LibraryOgre
2014-04-29, 11:40 AM
So long as it is explicitly allowed, either by the GM or the book.

Rhynn
2014-04-29, 11:48 AM
Which edition of D&D? (Also, wrong subforum, but I can't report it to have it moved unless I know which edition... but you can do that yourself!)

Gnomes2169
2014-05-01, 01:19 PM
Which edition of D&D? (Also, wrong subforum, but I can't report it to have it moved unless I know which edition... but you can do that yourself!)

D&D 3.5, and I don't know who the mods are here so if you could do that it would be great >.>

LibraryOgre
2014-05-01, 01:52 PM
D&D 3.5, and I don't know who the mods are here so if you could do that it would be great >.>

The Mod Wonder: You can report things yourself, using the triangular button with an exclamation point in it; I didn't move this one because it's multi-system, relevant to 3.x, 4e, Saga.

Thinker