PDA

View Full Version : Roleplaying Favorite character to play and to play with?

mgrinshpon
2014-05-05, 01:34 AM
Short version: What characters did both you enjoy playing and everyone else at the table enjoyed you playing?

Long version: I'm pretty new to D&D. I played it once for 3 straight days in a basement with a few friends a year ago and have now joined a group at a comic shop. The DM only allowed base character classes from PHB1 for balancing purposes. Because there were so many players already and I didn't want to play a rogue, I went with a CN Human Bard. He, like everyone else, is level 1 (except 1 guy who is level 2). I think that if I asked for a PHB2 class or something from the complete books, however, he'd allow it if I made it interesting for the party.

My problem is that I can't figure out how to play him in such a way that's enjoyable for everyone at the table, myself included. Right now, he's just a raging alcoholic who has a penchant for torture when diplomacy fails. There are multiple problems, though. 1- Out of combat, he's the diplomancer for the party so he just takes over. 2- In combat, he's useless. 1+2=3- He's not fun to play with for anyone at the table as it's either a 1-man show or I'm completely excluded from combat. At some point, however, he's going to die for some reason or another.

I'm looking for inspiration on future characters from all of you. What characters have you played in basically any D20 game (a lot of these concepts seem translatable between games) that were both fun to play and fun to play with? What characters allowed everyone to have a good time?

Garimeth
2014-05-07, 09:35 AM
Short version: What characters did both you enjoy playing and everyone else at the table enjoyed you playing?