PDA

View Full Version : What to do with loot?

newplayer
2014-05-22, 11:43 PM
Hi all,

As you can tell I'm new to D&D. My party just killed a young adult black dragon (yay) and I wound up with its heart. What can be done with it? What kind of person in a large city would want it?

Benthesquid
2014-05-22, 11:49 PM
What kind of person? (http://ia.media-imdb.com/images/M/MV5BMTcyNDY1OTI2Ml5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMzEwMzE4MTE@._ V1__SX961_SY608_.jpg)

My advice would be don't try to sell it. Instead, use some other loot to hire the best chef in the city to prepare it. Invite all the major players in the city to a meal 'not to be forgotten.' Network. Schmooze. If your DM's the type to role with it, you just gave him an excuse to set you up with any number of fantastic plot hooks.

Captnq
2014-05-22, 11:55 PM
Well, there is no RAW use for the heart of a dragon.

His hide, teeth, claws, and bones however, OH YEAH.

His armor can be made into acid resistance scale male that is one weight class less then normal, his teeth do +1 damage (acid), claws as well, properly enchanted, his bones can make dragonbone bows.

Get someone with crafting, have them craft you up all sorts of fun equipment. Sell it for stuff you want.

But the heart? Useless. Utterly useless. Unless your DM uses alternate magic item component rules. Then you need to ask him for details.

Here's a fun spell one of my players wrote up and researched.

Sealston’s Slaughter House

Necromancy
Level: Sor/Wiz 4
Components: V, S, M
Casting Time: 1 standard action
Range: Close (25 ft. + 5 ft./2 levels)
Target: One creature
Duration: 1 day/level
Saving Throw: Fortitude negates.
Spell Resistance: Yes