PDA

View Full Version : Twilight Gish Build Discussion

DurionArcanis
2014-06-04, 09:15 AM
So, for a future character I had the idea of a sort of Dark/Light duality flavored Gish. Well, to be precise I had thought about doing a Hexblade/Paladin dualclass (in a game where alignment restrictions were adjusted most likely lol) but looking into it I've never actually seen a Hexblade in play before. And while I have plenty of experience getting my roguish ass handed to me by Paladins, I've never played one personally. A friend of mine mentioned that Hexblades are underpowered, and checking the tier list it's a low t4 class. While I'm all for playing an underdog, I would too easily gimp the hell out of my character that way.

So that brings me to the topic title. What classes would you all recommend for a Twilight Gish? Races? Templates? I could easily dump a ton of flavor onto a Duskblade or something, but that seems like the easy way out. I've seen a few guides on making a working Gish, and some of the ideas are pretty decent, but I'd like to hear what people recommend in person and leave it open to discussion.

Remember, heavy flavor is desired here. Very Blessed and Cursed thematic, with temptation playing a key role in character development. Standard Good vs Evil schtick here. If possible I might even see if there's an ability to get two "familiar" type creatures (whether or not they're actual familiar class features is non-essential), one good, one evil, and go for the cartoonish Angel/Devil shoulder debates.

Side discussion: Have any of you done that type of flavor (regardless of build)? If so, how did everyone view it? How would you view it if someone in your party did that? As a player? As a DM? Sure I can see it developing into a complex personal plot, which would be great for the person playing it, but do you think it would detract from the party or from the main plot too much?

Xerlith
2014-06-04, 09:39 AM