PDA

View Full Version : Player Help Warlock help.

m149307
2014-06-08, 02:58 AM
Ok, so I am making a warlock (ranged version) for a level 4 campaign I am in. 1 flaw is allowed, and I start with 5400 gp. it is a 30 point buy (starts at 8). Can you guys help me get started on making the warlock as it is my first time making one? Just basic stuff like which stats are needed/can be dumped, which items to get, etc would be awesome.

aleucard
2014-06-08, 03:15 AM
Immediately, I have to ask. What sources are you allowed to pull from? Also, are you allowed to get the Eldritch Claws feat for if/when someone closes in?

m149307
2014-06-08, 03:17 AM
all sources. and I think so, yes. Was planning on getting claws in case of close combat (before i can fly and do my range stuff).

Vizzerdrix
2014-06-08, 04:15 AM
Warlocks Don't really need any stat. They can function with all 8s as odd as that sounds, but a bit of dex is nice. Con is always good as is int. And you can put points into Cha but if you do then go all the way and pick invocations with saves or none at all and stick with the self buffs.

Mortal Bane is a good feat to look into. Extra Invocation when it becomes applicable. Otherwise feats to get into PrCs or for funsies.

aleucard
2014-06-08, 04:28 AM
Alright. This link (http://www.giantitp.com/forums/showthread.php?265455-The-Newest-Warlock-Handbook-3-5) will be your new best friend. If you qualify, I will HIGHLY recommend you take Chameleon for a 2-level dip; if you have any invocations that you want occasionally but would take too much space if taken normally, this is how you get them. Not to mention all the other goodies that Chameleon gets. Don't take it too far or you're less of a versatile Warlock and more of a Chameleon with Invocations.

nedz
2014-06-08, 04:46 AM