PDA

View Full Version : The Popularuty of 3.5

Snownine
2014-06-14, 04:48 PM
With 5e rolling out this summer I got to thinking; I am fairly new to D&D but have noticed that almost everyone I meet in person plays 3.5. I have never met anyone that plays 4e and only one that played the original AD&D. Is 3.5 really the most popular or is my sample just not indicative of the population? If 3.5 is the most popular, why is this the case?

PersonMan
2014-06-14, 04:53 PM
Well, fourth edition changed so many things that a lot of people didn't switch over to it when it came out because they didn't like it (other reasons, such as "I don't want to spend a pile of money for new books" also played and still play a role here), hence the large number of people who still play 3.5. I don't have statistics about the entire population of DnD players, but I'd expect that the majority would be split between 4e and 3.5, with only a small number on earlier editions for several reasons (such as them being out of print for over a decade).

Twilightwyrm
2014-06-14, 05:09 PM