PDA

View Full Version : Just a little 'Hallmark' moment to share with the Playground

Oddman80
2014-06-17, 10:58 PM
I started playing D&D just a few months ago. I fell in love with it instantly. The campaign I am in runs weekly late on friday nights. The following morning, my 7 year old son asks me how my game is and i usually end up giving him an in-depth summary (often takes about an hour to tell). he just soaks it up. He remembers details about my campaign i often forget - and reminds me of things (why the thing my character did was a bad decision) i had forgotten. He has also been begging me to play. I am pretty sure the 3.5 system is a bit too technical and too difficult for my 7 year old son.. but i am less and less sure these days. Especially after today.

It started off during a drive with him, when he was asking me more about details of my game. then out of the blue, he drops this on me:

"When I am old enough to play, I want to be a Half-Orc Barbarian just like you!"

Oh. My. Goodness!!! I think maybe I should be ashamed about how tender that moment felt, but screw it - I know he has no interest in my actual profession, so this may be the closest I ever get to that "Dad, I want to be just like you" moment every father longs for.

Well, I can't leave it there. I ask him to tell me a little about the character he wants to play.... And I kid you not - my son goes into an incredible back story. We spend the rest of the car ride, and a good half hour or so after that, flushing out the story, and putting together a myth-weavers sheet for him. So - in case you are interested in reading more about the world my son created in that little brain of his, I give you the Saga of Zev Thunderbird:

The Saga of Zev Thunderbird