PDA

View Full Version : DM Help Voice changing

GilesTheCleric
2014-07-02, 01:59 PM
I'm GMing a game, and as hard as I've tried to not have it happen, sometimes several NPCs end up talking to each other or to the PCs at the same time. I'm not very good at making funny voices or changing my voice, and adding "x said" to everything takes us out of first person. So, I've looked around for some live voice-changing software. Unfortunately, all the stuff on Cnet looks incredibly sketchy (astroturfing, false advertising).

Is there a particular piece of software you guys would recommend, for either win7 or mac? I'm playing on roll20/G+ hangouts, if that makes a difference.

Edit: We're not using video, so visual-based solutions are a no-go, unfortunately.

hymer
2014-07-02, 02:28 PM
I don't use any such stuff, but I do think it's possible to find little tricks and techniques that can do the job for you.
When two NPCs are speaking to each other, look to your right when you're A and to your left when you're B, for example. When they're speaking to the PCs, you can have one knit his brows while the other smirks, for example.
And as for doing voices, practice makes perfect. You'll feel silly practicing by yourself at first, but once you get past that it really lifts your performance.

Telonius
2014-07-02, 02:31 PM
I wold suggest having a few different hats, each representing various NPCs.

GilesTheCleric
2014-07-02, 02:35 PM
I don't use any such stuff, but I do think it's possible to find little tricks and techniques that can do the job for you.
When two NPCs are speaking to each other, look to your right when you're A and to your left when you're B, for example. When they're speaking to the PCs, you can have one knit his brows while the other smirks, for example.
And as for doing voices, practice makes perfect. You'll feel silly practicing by yourself at first, but once you get past that it really lifts your performance.