PDA

View Full Version : Pathfinder Is the Magician Archetype Worthwhile?

Palanan
2014-07-16, 09:34 AM
I have a low-level druid/bard who hasn't made much use of his bardic side so far, and I'm not seeing that IC would be all that valuable. By contrast, I like the look of the Magician Archetype (http://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/core-classes/bard/archetypes/paizo---bard-archetypes/magician) from the APG. Since we have a sorcerer, a cleric and a summoner in the party, would this be a useful archetype to have around?

This is my first Pathfinder game and I have zero experience with archetypes, so constructive advice is welcome.

Psyren
2014-07-16, 09:45 AM
Magician is indeed good. I personally like to combine it with Sound Striker (http://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/core-classes/bard/archetypes/paizo---bard-archetypes/sound-striker) for some bardic blasting.

The main advantages of Magician are the UMD bonus, free spells known (and they are non-bardic spells on top of that), Dweomercraft and Wand Mastery. The downside is that you must choose a bonded object, which ties your spellcasting to something that can be destroyed or stolen, so be careful. Making this object a wand however is useful because you can put nearly any spell into it without needing the crafting prereqs and benefit from Wand Mastery on that spell.

Magician is not quite as necessary if there are other arcanists in the party, though they will love you for Dweomercraft at least, and you will love them for helping you craft non-bard spells into your wand for Wand Mastery.

Larkas
2014-07-16, 09:57 AM
you will love them for helping you craft non-bard spells into your wand for Wand Mastery.

Wait, does that even work? Doesn't Wand Mastery apply to wands containing a spell on the bard's spell list? Can you have more than one spell in a wand?

Psyren
2014-07-16, 10:37 AM