PDA

View Full Version : Return of the Restrictions

Fwiffo86
2014-07-17, 09:15 AM
I am glad to see the return of restrictions on things. I have no experience with 4e, but I can say 3e proved that players will abuse every loophole they can find. And I welcome the closing of many of those loopholes.

Example:

Multi-class attribute requirements. I love this. It harkens back to the days of 1e where you actually had to have extremely good scores to multi-class (not to mention you actually couldn't do this if you were human). Now if they would only return the difference between Multi-class and Class changing and/or put in the requirement that your classes must remain within x levels of each other or huge xp penalty. (go ahead, pick up 2 levels of fighter. Hope you like getting only 50% xp for the rest of the game) But I like the idea that your secondary class is less effective than if it were your primary class (assuming I understand the rumor properly) :smallsmile:

Extremely Unlikely Possibilities:

Loss of attribute (CON) point upon raise from the dead. This meant you only had so many chances. Only a small revolving door in the afterlife.

Wish aging the caster 7 years. How many times are you going to cast wish my human wizard? 1? 5? With an average lifespan of 50, I'm thinking a single cast would ruin you. (remember the aging rules for attributes? (+WIS, -STR, DEX, CON)

Ah, the days when you couldn't obliterate gods because you were level 15. I miss them.

PinkysBrain
2014-07-17, 09:26 AM
You could fight and kill demi-gods though.

INDYSTAR188
2014-07-17, 09:49 AM
Do we know how multi-classing works yet? I like the idea of it having a set of prerequisites as I agree the 'dip into class X for super OP ability' is cheesy. I hope that it is restrictive enough to prevent those sorts of shenanigans while still being flexible enough to provide access to the tools characters need to fill out their concepts.

Squirrel_Dude
2014-07-17, 10:14 AM