PDA

View Full Version : Rules Q&A Druid extended spontaneous summoning

Jermz
2014-07-19, 07:52 AM
Hi all - first post on the sub-forum. I must say, I'm very appreciative of the help that is given out here and hope that in the future I can post my own substantial and helpful replies. In the meantime, I've got a question of my own.

I'm currently playing a 5th level human druid in a relatively low-magic campaign. The players, who I've been playing with for many years, are decidedly low-op. I'm probably the highest optimizer, and several times I've held myself back so as not to outshine the party - such as not running my druid with an animal companion (ostensibly this is for flavor purposes until I find one that I 'like'). This is to the extent that ToB is considered overpowered (please, let's not devolve this into you know what kind of discussion...). We also tend to stick to mostly core, and a few splatbooks depending on DM approval.

As for my druid, his feats are Spell Focus Conjuration, Augmented Summoning and Extend Spell. Now that I've hit level 5, I've been coming into my own, especially when summoning hippogriffs. My main query, finally, is how to combine the druid's spontaneous casting with extend spell metamagic. Summoning already takes an entire round to cast, so I'm not exactly sure how this would work.

In addition, it looks as if SF: Conjuration is a kind of feat tax, since there don't seem to be very many spells from this school which target an opponent.

This is my first time playing a druid, and currently, even with these limitations (no animal companion, two feats that are barely used), I find that I wholly outshine my party and can solve pretty much any problem that we have to overcome. Granted, we don't have any other T1 characters in our party, so outshining them isn't too difficult.

Thanks for reading.

J

Nightly
2014-07-19, 08:56 AM