PDA

View Full Version : 3 PC Campaign

ArmorArmadillo
2007-03-01, 10:45 PM
So, I'm starting a campaign and, unfortunately, one of my four players had to withdraw. I don't want to scrap the whole thing, but I'm not really experienced at DMing and I'm not sure how to balance a campaign for 3 players rather than 4. (How do I determine EL? Party Strength? Balanced Encounters?)

Thanks for any help.

Nerd-o-rama
2007-03-01, 11:33 PM
I had the same problem when I started DMing my group. The route I went was to play a regular DMNPC that filled in the party's missing role (a Fighter, in this case.) It worked, since they're all basically mercenaries, Karl the Fighter is just another mercenary who works with them most of the time.

The key here, of course, is not to succumb to the temptation of putting "your" character in the spotlight all the time, or giving them uberkewl powers. Remember, your players are there to have fun and do cool stuff. Don't let the NPC do everything for them, like trivialize combat or boss them around/railroad them with their Superior DM Knowledge.

Black Swan
2007-03-01, 11:43 PM
Depends on what's missing. If it's a cleric, make healing from NPC's readily available, for a price. If it's an arcane caster...I dunno. Maybe focus on enemies which can be dealt with without magic. If it's a rogue, maybe send traps at them which can be worked around with a little thought. If it's a fighter, hey, no big deal. Casters can summon tanks easily enough, and the cleric is a tank with a little work.

As for the enemies, maybe reduce the difficulty a bit. CR is balanced against four characters, so maybe treat them as a party at 3/4 the level they're at with regards to calculating CR and work towards facing them with enemies they can reasonably deal with, depending on what's missing from the party.