PDA

View Full Version : Optimization Help, create a high damage bard?

Corbia
2014-07-27, 12:53 PM
The GM thinks bards are useless, one of the players decided to take the role for diplomacy and the mage decided that "to make your bard useless" he would create a Loremaster. Then I bit the bait, but I believe I'm not experienced enough to create a high damage "bee" bard, sting hard and disappear quickly.

From what I've seen, I decided to create a Deepwyrm Half-Drow that uses a rapier and dragonfire inspiration.I'm not a experienced player, I've mostly just read a lot of things around lots of places, so I don't really know how to properly build it.
At first I thought about an illusionist bard, but what I really want is to be an invisible/untouchable killer bee.

Thank you all very much for any kind of help. It would be very interesting to see them acknowledging a bard's true worth. :smalltongue:

Hamste
2014-07-27, 01:16 PM
Song of the heart is good for dragonfire but you need to be 6th level

Red Fel
2014-07-27, 01:18 PM
First off, here is Dictum Mortuum's Bard Handbook (http://dictummortuum.blogspot.com/2011/08/bards-handbook.html). (Here it is again, with color coding (http://community.wizards.com/forum/previous-editions-character-optimization/threads/1145396).)

Now, you're going to have to be more specific - when you say "high damage," do you mean melee? Blasting? Sonic damage? There are ways to do many things with the Bard, but you have to be specific. Further, are you using Bard exclusively? Or are you allowing dips? PrCs?