PDA

View Full Version : Treasure Distribution

Angafirith
2007-03-04, 07:35 PM
I'm having some trouble understanding the rules for distributing treasure. My playing group consists of 3 people and all of us are new to the game. The amount of treasure we received seemed rather high to me, as it was our first encounter. I'm not really experienced with D&D or the value of a gold piece, so I thought that I'd post what I did here.

I started off with an encounter against a group of 5 goblins. We defeated the goblins and I looked at the table on page 3-5. I figured that the group of 5 goblins (each CR 1/3) would come out to an EL of 2. I rolled a d100 for Coins, Goods, and Items as per the chart on page 52 of the version 3.5 DMG. I rolled a 99 and two low rolls. This came out to 2d8x10 pp with no goods or items. When I did the dice rolls, it came out to 50 platinum pieces. Were these goblins carrying their children's college tuition with them or something? Is 50 platinum less than it sounds?

Did I assign the right amount of treasure?

TheOOB
2007-03-04, 07:40 PM
50 platinum is only 500gp, a little more then the cost of a masterwork weapon.

Most good GMs don't acually have their little monster minions holds all the treasure they roll, but rather add it to a stash.

For example, if a cave has 10 goblins in it, rather then have each one carry a seprate treasure you'd get all the treasure after you clear out the cave in a locked chest or something.

JellyPooga
2007-03-04, 08:08 PM
"Only 500gp" you say?

You do know that that is a small fortune don't you? Living frugally, you could live for several years on that and you expect a group of 5 goblins of bog-standardness to be carryingthat kind of loot? What fantasy world do you come from?:smallconfused:

Sorry for being so agressive :smalltongue: but 50pp does seem a little high for 5 goblins.