PDA

View Full Version : A Slew of Sphinx Riddles

dragonwings
2007-03-08, 09:50 PM
Good evening. I need a bit of help.

I'm a bit new to DMing, but I've got a story line that involves a whole heap of sphinx and eleven different major riddles. Of course, I'd like to find some minor riddles to keep as back ups in case the PCs want to pester the sphinx for more information.

The problem? I'm terrible at coming up with riddles. If any of you could offer advice, your own riddles, or a place where I could find some decent riddles, I would really appreciate it. I'd kinda like to find riddles that had some ties (maybe even a loose one) with the eleven classes. You know... a riddle with the answer of "trees" for a druid or the answer of "music" for a bard. Just something like that. The back up ones wouldn't have to have such ties and if I can't find said ties, I'll be fine. I just really need the riddles.

Thanks in advance!

- Jinx

Jayabalard
2007-03-08, 10:06 PM
you should check out http://www.artsforge.com/humor/riddles.html

lots of riddles there for you riddling pleasure, though no answers afaik.

dragonwings
2007-03-08, 10:14 PM
The answers are rather important. It's sad. Sphinx are my favorite mythical critters and yet I'm terrible at riddles.

Dhavaer
2007-03-08, 10:45 PM
you should check out http://www.artsforge.com/humor/riddles.html

lots of riddles there for you riddling pleasure, though no answers afaik.

That's a good site. That's my evening's entertainment taken care of...

my answers:
#1: Quartz
#2: Water
#3: Air (or Wind)

Jayabalard
2007-03-08, 10:47 PM
You can probably google for most of the answers if you can't figure them out for yourself. For example:

1. The first answer is sand: it blinds you if it gets in your eyes, it's used to make glass (and therefore glasses), in an hourglass it tells time and it's composed of crystals; I remember a variation of this one on the old Batman TV show.
2. is water
3. is air/wind.
4. is smoke
5. is a glove