PDA

View Full Version : Looking to make a Witch Doctor type character.

GameSultan
2014-09-06, 06:53 PM
Any suggestions? I'm unsure as to whether I want to be a Wizard that RPs as a Witch Doctor, with the Spell Thematics feat, or whether there's an actual WD class somewhere.

I'm fairly new to DnD.

So yeah, any input would be most appreciated.

Red Fel
2014-09-06, 07:38 PM
Any suggestions? I'm unsure as to whether I want to be a Wizard that RPs as a Witch Doctor, with the Spell Thematics feat, or whether there's an actual WD class somewhere.

I'm fairly new to DnD.

So yeah, any input would be most appreciated.

You haven't mentioned whether you're playing D&D 3.5 or Pathfinder. I'm going to assume 3.5, but just in case you're considering PF, I'd like to point out the Scarred Witch Doctor (http://www.d20pfsrd.com/races/other-races/featured-races/arg-orc/scarred-witch-doctor-witch-orc) archetype of the Witch (http://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/base-classes/witch) class. It's a special archetype available to Orcs, Half-Orcs, and those with the Racial Heritage (Orc) feat. It takes the Witch class - an Int-based primary spellcaster with hexes and a familiar - and replaces her familiar with a creepy tiki mask. It also causes her to cast from Con instead of Int, because of ritualistic scarring.

Now, if you want a Witch Doctor class in 3.5, you're going to have to be a bit more specific. Do you want voodoo curses? Bubbling cauldrons? Creepy tiki masks? Raising the dead? Pacts with spirits? There are a lot of ways to spell "Witch Doctor," and a lot of options in 3.5. For what, specifically, were you looking?

Blackhawk748
2014-09-06, 07:51 PM
The arcane spell list isnt all that "Witch Doctor-y" If your in 3.5 Id recommend playing a Spirit Shaman (Spontaneous Druid) or a Totemist (Magic of Incarnum)