PDA

View Full Version : DM Help Building a metropolis for an urban campaign

SciChronic
2014-09-10, 11:27 PM
So i'm starting a side project for a future urban campaign i may or may not DM in the future. I intend on it being an urban campaign with 90% of the campaign happening within the city (metropolis size), but i need some help creating it. I've never built a town before, so some direction as to books to look through and jsut general advice/help to create this would be very much appreciated.

For the setting, i'm going to take some inspiration from Raymond E. Feist's Krondor. The PCs will be placed in "Western Capital" of the Kingdom, which is not really the capital, but is the largest city on the western half, but is the birthplace for the current king, and is currently ruled by the king's brother, the duke. The king, however, has grown rather paranoid over the past few years, and believes that his brother is plotting to take the throne. In reality, the brother has no interest in the throne, and is happy with his current station. However, civil is a growing possibility. Whether or not the PCs get involved in this, i'm leaving up to them.

Major districts:
King's road - eastern entrance into the city, it is lined with taverns, inn's, and shops welcoming travelers, nobles, and wealthy merchants. This path leads all the way to the castle. Following the kings road out of the city leads all the way to the eastern capital and it's castle.
The Poor Quarter - where, the poor live, obviously. It is located near the docks where many of its residents work.
Warehouse District - the border between the poor quarter and the docks.
Butcher's Alley - a street known for its many slaughterhouses
Tanner's Square - located in the Poor Quarter, The stench from the tanneries is said to kill the livestock in Butcher's Alley for them.
The Docks - The commercial port for the city, more than one body has been dumped here
The Common District - where the middle class lives