PDA

View Full Version : I need help with skill system. Please.

Philemonite
2014-09-18, 06:10 AM
I am currently making a game using 8 attributes (think ability scores):

Strength
Vitality
Dexterity
Agility
Intelligence
Wits
Presence
Wisdom

This is my first time designing a full system (I usually stick to battle systems) so I want the skill system to be simple. I want every attribute to have two skills based on it, so that each attribute contributes the same outside of combat. Here is what I have so far:

Strength
-Force
-Intimidate

Vitality
-Endurance
-Athletics

Dexterity
-Thievery
-Mechanics

Agility
-Stealth
-Acrobatics

Intelligence
-Knowledge
-Arcana

Wits
-Bluff
-Perception

Presence
-Diplomacy
-Streetwise

Wisdom
-Religion
-Insight

It is mostly inspired by 4e skill list, and I want to make it relatively similar. Some skills might be too broad, some might be too specific and some might be missing. So, what can I change to make it better?

nonsi
2014-09-18, 07:09 AM
I've tried it long enough and enough times in the past to know without a shadow of a doubt that it is practically impossible to achieve satisfying results when your primary agenda is symmetry.

You'll have to come to terms with the fact that there will never be a workable symmetry between ability scores, classes, spells, feats or skills.

You can find out the hard way as I did (and you most definitely will find out) or the easy way by taking my word for it and letting the matters drop.

Philemonite
2014-09-18, 07:46 AM
I've tried it long enough and enough times in the past to know without a shadow of a doubt that it is practically impossible to achieve satisfying results when your primary agenda is symmetry.

You'll have to come to terms with the fact that there will never be a workable symmetry between ability scores, classes, spells, feats or skills.