View Full Version : To strike an ooze...

The Vorpal Tribble
2007-03-12, 12:07 PM
Alright I should probably know this, but with numerous creatures when you hit them it says the weapon needs to make a so and so reflex save, and I was wondering if the wielder makes the save, or if there is some special rules for weapon saves (especially if they are enchanted)?

Shhalahr Windrider
2007-03-12, 12:13 PM
Nonmagical items use their wielders' saves. Magical items use the saves of their wielder or a save based upon their caster level, whichever is higher.

(goes off to find the rules on magic item saves...)


Ah, here we go!

"A magic item’s saving throw bonuses are each equal to 2 + one-half the item’s caster level. (http://www.systemreferencedocuments.org/35/sovelior_sage/magicOverview.html#object)"

Effectively, magic items have all Good saves based upon the item caster level. (Kinda like monks :smallwink:)

Fax Celestis
2007-03-12, 12:14 PM
Damaging Magic Items
A magic item doesn’t need to make a saving throw unless it is unattended, it is specifically targeted by the effect, or its wielder rolls a natural 1 on his save. Magic items should always get a saving throw against spells that might deal damage to them— even against attacks from which a nonmagical item would normally get no chance to save. Magic items use the same saving throw bonus for all saves, no matter what the type (Fortitude, Reflex, or Will). A magic item’s saving throw bonus equals 2 + one-half its caster level (round down). The only exceptions to this are intelligent magic items, which make Will saves based on their own Wisdom scores.

Magic items, unless otherwise noted, take damage as nonmagical items of the same sort. A damaged magic item continues to function, but if it is destroyed, all its magical power is lost.

Should help.

2007-03-12, 12:14 PM
Nonmagical weapons use the wielder's saves
Magical weapons use the better of 2+(1/2 caster level) saves or the wielder's saves,

2007-03-12, 12:15 PM
Attended objects use the saves of their wielder, or their own if they are better. Nonmagical items can't make saves on their own, so they always use their wielder's. Magical items have a generic save modifier of 2+(one-half their caster level), so they actually have a choice when wielded. Most of the time, the user's save is better if the user actually can afford said item. But sometimes it matters.

EDIT: Wow, triple-ninja'ed.

The Vorpal Tribble
2007-03-12, 01:12 PM
Whats the caster level of a weapon however?

2007-03-12, 01:17 PM
The caster level of the weapon is in it's description or 3x it's enchanment.

2007-03-12, 01:21 PM
Whats the caster level of a weapon however?
The lowest CL that can handle all of the abilities of the weapon (no clue if this is RAW or not, but it fits with how other items determine CL)

2007-03-12, 01:22 PM
Do intelligent items get their wisdom bonus to will saves? I assume they would but it makes their fort and ref seem weaker. Do they get Int to ref and Cha to Fort or something?

The Vorpal Tribble
2007-03-12, 01:22 PM
The caster level of the weapon is in it's description or 3x it's enchanment.
Oh yeah, had completely forgotten that. Duh. Thanks!