PDA

View Full Version : World Help Cartography for the artistically stunted?

EternalHobbyist
2014-09-20, 08:52 PM
I'm in the process of creating a homebrew continent for D&D, and I'd like some input on creating the actual world map. I have rough ideas for the main areas/layout, but I would love some help coming up with plot-advancing details, including city names, etc.

Also, the actual creation of the map - I could use some help on that one. I would like something that I can print out and present to the players as a sort of "General Knowledge" supplement. It would be really nice if I were able to add more detail to certain areas, or zoom in and get more information. I guess it would be like a fantasy version of Google Maps, or a Slippy map ...? That would probably require MUCH more skill and time than I care to put into though, so maybe just some tips on map making in general for the lazy DM?

I have some experience with Paint.net and Inkscape, and I played briefly with Hexmapper. I've checked some of the tutorials on the Cartographer's Guild as well, but I haven't put any of them into action yet.

Thanks in advance for any input!

brian 333
2014-09-21, 08:54 AM
I typed Fantasy Map Generator into Google and got a half-dozen responses, some of which claimed to be free. Since I have always drawn my own maps in the style common in the '70's when I was coming up in wargaming, I've never used one of these, so I cannot tell you which is better.

I can tell you that players don't mind the artistry of the map so much as its usefulness, and a crudely drawn map is often better than a detailed one because, face it, what goblin is going to draw the map to his hidden loot like a cartographer? Actually, take that crudely drawn map, char the edges with a candle, splatter some lemon juice on it, and set it in the sunlight for a little while.