View Full Version : Original System Fabletop RPS for lack of a better name

2014-10-02, 02:28 AM
As of the time of this writing, The FRPS will use a dice pool of d6s for resolution. Attributes will determine how many d6s you get, the relevant Skill will determine what you need to roll. A roll of Skill or less on a single d6 counts as a success. You'll need anywhere from 1-4 successes depending on how difficult the roll is.

Roll DifficultySuccesses

A roll that exceeds your skill level cancels one success, or counts as a failure if there are no remaining successes. 2 failures is a critical failure.

Strength, Skill, and Will each have subattribute scores ranging from 1-5 with each point granting one dice toward appropriate rolls.




Will (Magic Rank is considered a Skill)

Magic Rank

Strength, and Skill equal the average of their respective subattributes (rounded down), while Will equals Magic (Rank+Number of Spells Known)/3. For example someone with Physique 3, Toughness and Health 2 has 7/3=2 ST, while someone who's got 3 Magic Rank (and 8 spells) has 3 Will.

Starting and Raising Attributes
Characters are assumed to have subattributes of 1 and 40 points to spend on raising them. It takes 4 points to raise from 1 to 2, but after that, it takes Current Score cubed to advance to the next score (8 from 2 to 3, another 27 from 3 to 4, and finally 64 from 4 to 5). You can't skip. Every kill is one point, although quest kills may offer higher rewards. For ease of calculation, use the table below:

Attribute RaisePointsTotal Points
From 1-244

Learning Spells
If a spell has a Magic Rank requirement, determine its cost based on raising an attribute to the required level (for example a spell that requires 3 Ranks would be equivalent to raising a score from 2 to 3, or 8 points)

A character may reduce a score <i>by one</i> to gain <i>half</i> of the points back (so for example, dropping a 5 to a 4 would give back 32 points, while unlearning a Rank 3 spell would give back 4)

Morphology-Weight, Attractiveness, and You:
Normally games like to allow their players to decide what they look like, and they can to the extent of hair and eye color, and preeixisting scars and tatoos, but Attractiveness and Weight have statistical measures, such as how NPCs react to you. If you're going for certain builds consider modifying the underlying (sub)attributes


For men, Strength is an important factor for determining whether they are adequate providers and protectors. Men add 1 dice to to attractiveness rolls per point of Strength.
For women, Physique and Health are more important than being muscular and men sometimes find it unsightly anyway. Use the higher of the two scores, adding 1 dice per point to attractiveness rolls.
Extreme weight (outside +/-30) subtracts -1 dice per level, except against NPCs that like the particular weight extreme.
Guile represents Charisma to a degree. Guile doesn't modify the number of dice you can have, rather the roll you need to be under in order to succeed.


Weight starts at 0 and goes from -50 to +50
For women, weight is centered on 130 lbs. Women whose guile exceeds Weight/10 may be 'voluptuous'.
For men, weight is centered on 160 lbs.
Every point below 0 weight is -1 lb, while every point above is +2.
Diet alters Weight in numerous ways and amounts
Running across a zone or a whole town reduces weight by -2
A battle reduces weight by the amount of rounds it takes.

Whenever you are knocked unconscious make an Appearance check based on Guile (one dice per Appearance Point with base difficulty equal to Guile or less). A failure equals a scar in a location of your choice. A critical failure, or being knocked out as a result of a called shot or critical hit means the scar is in a location of the GM's choice.

Alignment represents your standing on the scale of morality. Ethical dealings are possible too, although those are up to GM discretion. Morality ranges on a scale from -1000 to 1000, although GMs are free to vary this. Since the Fabletop Roleplaying System is designed to be played by a group, Only individual decisions affect morality. If your group is deciding what to do with a surrendered bandit leader, and one of its members decides to kill the leader, they suffer morality loss. If the group collectively voted to execute him, they all suffer the loss.

Positive Actions
Give money to a beggar+1 morality
Consume tofu or carrots+1 morality
Consume celery+2 morality
Capture criminals+10 morality
Quest choices+25 to +175 morality

Negative Actions
Threaten a villager-1 morality
Assault a villager-5 morality
Vandalize property-5 morality
Consume crunchy chick-5 morality
Kill a citizen or soldier-15 morality
Quest choices-25 to -175 morality

Combat Statistics:
Hit Points
These suckers keep you alive. They equal (HealthxToughness)2. Since Health and Toughness both max at 5, max HP is 25 squared or 625. It would have been neat if I could do 999, but that's kind of a Final Fantasy Trope.

We don't need no stinkin' Mana. We'll use the Gauntlet system. The advantage? No Will Potions. The drawback? Spells take Prep Time. You can feasibly fire off one in a single round, but it wouldn't be very powerful.

Each weapon has a 'Tier' from 1-5.

*Optionally, you can include non-canonical materials here like Adamant, Mithril, or Orichalcum, either instead of, or in addition to Master Weapons.
†Legendary weapons may go as high as 10th tier. An example 10th tier weapon would be the Sword of Aeons

Heroic Weapons
Some weapons evolve with their hero, becoming more powerful as their hero gains skill. Such a heroic weapon mutates as it gains power. in games that use heroic weapons, they are considered one tier higher than the hero's skill. Thus a fully evolved (skill level 5) weapon is Tier 6.

Weapon Augmentations
Weapon augmentations have tiers as well, but only up to 5. When determining the total tier of a weapon that has been augmented, use the tier of the highest augmentation +1 per additional augmentation. Individual augmentations are priced at (Tier+2) cubed.

Max tier including augmentations is 10

Whenever you attack an NPC with a weapon, you roll Attribute Dice and must roll under skill. When using a melee weapon, Skill is Melee Combat and Attribute is Strength. With Ranged, it is Ranged Combat and Accuracy respectively. You must get 1 success per point of the enemy's Speed. On any success, Damage=TierxAttributexSkill. Sneak Attacking foes deals Double Damage if you also beat their Guile (That is to say, if you roll a number of successes equal to their Guile or better).

Defense is a little different. Whenever you defend, roll Speed dice with a success being Guile or less. If you get more successes than your opponent, you succeed at your defense. Common mooks don't defend, merely exceeding their speed hits them, but anything that is 'named' should get a defense roll

Gauntlet Magic
Whenever you cast a spell you roll Will d6s and must roll under Magic Rank. On any success, you deal Damage=(Charge Turns)xWillxMagic Rank

2014-10-02, 02:29 AM
Post reserved for Magic, because I'm not really sure what I want to do with it yet. So... Thoughts?