PDA

View Full Version : Freelancer

Jimp
2007-03-14, 05:17 PM
I just got it yesterday.
Is it just me or is it the single greatest space game EVER?
I'm in so much love it's not even funny. Does anyone else play it?
Wikipedia link: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Freelancer_%28computer_game%29

Erloas
2007-03-14, 05:51 PM
While the mouse controls worked really well, I actually felt that they worked too well and took a lot of challenge out of the game. And there are a few times when they act like you are free to do your own thing, but its a lie, it has a railroad-a-rific storyline. It wasn't a bad game, but it left a lot to be desired in the freedoms of space categories. There was pretty much just combat.

I recently started playing X3, I think its a great space game, it has many more aspects of space to it then just fighting. For some people thats good, for others its bad. X3 has a fairly steep learning curve though and you pretty much have to visit their forums to figure out what some of the stuff does. Its a very open sandboxy game. Although it is much more demanding in terms of your PC, so it can really get bogged down in big fights if you have an older system. Old of course being relative in computer technology.

Timberwolf
2007-03-14, 06:00 PM
Freelancer does indeed rock. I have to get that working again. Great days spent coordinating with my housemate over Teamspeak, preying on the space lanes. Arrrrr !!

Arlanthe
2007-03-15, 05:03 AM
I played Freelancer for a few weeks. It was fun for awhile, but not terribly deep. The gameplay depth was such that after about a month of casual play, I was ready to move on. It was a very "simple" game, and not a marathon runner.

Caelestion
2007-03-15, 07:31 AM
It's a good game and always great for replaying every so often to marvel at the cool visuals. (Magellan is my favourite.) It's also endlessly moddable, adding to its replayability.