PDA

View Full Version : D&D 3.x Class Dwarven Griffon Rider base class help

SwordChucks
2014-10-07, 11:10 PM
Hi playground,

I'm trying to homebrew up a setting I've had in my head for a while, but I'm pretty new to homebrew. My current challenge is trying to make a 20 level base class, for a modified D&D 3.5 setting, based around a dwarf paired with a griffon animal companion. If anyone has any ideas or examples for class abilities they would like to share it would help me greatly.

Currently the setting only uses core material that has been modified (condensing feats and skills, with the ultimate goal of replacing the PHB classes that are not tier 3 i.e. most of them), so combos that involve splat books won't work.

I would put what I have so far in a table but right now it would mostly be question marks so sorry in advance for the wall of text.

Calderians: Dwarves that lived on a plateau formed above a possibly active volcano, which due to an earthquake became a basin. The earthquake led to the discovery of rare materials in the sheer walls surrounding the city. The city is known for its adamantine and mithral as well as rare gemstones, particularly Calderian Rubies. The city is well defended by the difficulty in reaching it and the well trained guards: the griffon riders and the fortifiers.

Calderian racial traits:

+2 CON and +2 to either STR or WIS

Medium: as medium creatures calderians have no special bonuses or penalties due to their size.
Calderian base land speed is 20 feet. However, calderians can move at this speed even when wearing medium or heavy armor or when carrying a medium or heavy load (unlike other creatures, whose speed is reduced in such situations).

Darkvision: Calderians can see in the dark up to 60 feet. Darkvision is black and white only, but it is otherwise like normal sight, and calderians can function just fine with no light at all.