PDA

View Full Version : Trap design for noobs

Atsull
2014-10-08, 01:59 PM
I'm currently designing a dungeon. I'm pretty new to dungeon design, since I normally make outdoor skirmishes. I feel pretty confident so far, but I have one thing that I've never done before: traps.

How do I keep traps interesting, but level appropriate? How do I make them a threat, but not as dangerous as the enemies in the dungeon?

HMS Invincible
2014-10-08, 02:09 PM
4v4 encounter or even have the players outnumbered the enemies. Then add in a wall that drops down to separate the party. Wall is cr 1. Now it's 1-2 pc vs the whole group. Bonus trap: trapdoor to hide the PC bodies. Put on a hat of disguise and pretend to join the party.
Got this from someone on giantitp

VoxRationis
2014-10-08, 02:10 PM
Well, as far as making them interesting goes, I'd recommend that you not put them randomly in hallways. It will just slow down the game as the rogue learns to search every 5-foot square of floor. Put traps in places where it makes sense: the people who live or work in the place should be able to easily remember where the trap is and how to avoid/bypass it.
I'd have at least a few encounters where the traps are used in conjunction with enemies. The trap becomes something which the rogue should try to handle without just making the party stop and wait for them to disarm it. (I'd also make the trap be a nuisance or threat during the combat, such that the party doesn't just wait until the enemies are dead before turning their attention to the trap.)

OldTrees1
2014-10-08, 03:08 PM
Well the Dungeonscape book has a lot of good information including much better Trap rules. While there is a lot of good stuff in there, the main points were:

1) Traps can be defeated by being disarmed(disable device) OR destroyed(attacking squares).
2) Traps have a duration. It is not just "trigger-save-die?" it is now "trigger-save-react-save-react...".
3) Traps and enemies can be in the same encounter.

Ex: