PDA

View Full Version : Bleeping custom psionic item costs

WebTiefling
2014-10-20, 03:29 PM
Question for a psionics beginner. Not total Newb, but definitely beginner.

How would we figure out the cost of an augmented Inertial Armor Shirt?

Inertial Armor: Psion 1. +4 Armor Bonus. Adds +1 Armor for every 2 PP added. Lasts 1 hour/level.

If we cranked it up to 19 PP, that would give a +13 Armor. Manifester Level 19. 1st level Power * ML 19 * 2000 = 38,000 gp.

Hmmm. Only 38,000 for 13 armor that doesn't have any restrictions on it and is effective vs incorporeal attacks too. Too cheap.

Djores say that for each extra 2 PP, count the Power as 1 level higher. OK. That's 9 levels higher + the base level 1.

10th level Power * ML 19 * 2000 = 380,000 gp. WAY too expensive!! +5 Full Plate is only 51,650 gp!

So ... do I just fudge a price where I think it should be ABOUT, or are there some rules somewhere that can help me out here?

Personally I'm estimating the cost (just based on usefulness) to be somewhere around 80,000 gp. Just a rough estimate.

KillianHawkeye
2014-10-20, 03:44 PM
If it adds an armor bonus, it should be priced according to magical armor or bracers of armor.

When making up new magic items, comparing to existing magic items is always Step 1. Only if you don't find anything comparable to you resort to the custom item pricing formulas, and even then, those are just guidelines.

Fax Celestis
2014-10-20, 03:51 PM
Question for a psionics beginner. Not total Newb, but definitely beginner.

How would we figure out the cost of an augmented Inertial Armor Shirt?

Inertial Armor: Psion 1. +4 Armor Bonus. Adds +1 Armor for every 2 PP added. Lasts 1 hour/level.

If we cranked it up to 19 PP, that would give a +13 Armor. Manifester Level 19. 1st level Power * ML 19 * 2000 = 38,000 gp.

Hmmm. Only 38,000 for 13 armor that doesn't have any restrictions on it and is effective vs incorporeal attacks too. Too cheap.