View Full Version : 2.5*Strength modifier by ECL 9?

2007-03-20, 04:54 AM
So I was leafing through Frostburn, and I found the Disciple of Thrym. Not really a spectacular class, it's basically a non-good anti-Fire "Paladin"(full BAB, 1-4 spellcasting) The really interesting thing about the class though, is Powerful Grip, which gives +0.5 Strength to a gripped weapon. However, you need to use a Greataxe. Now, Exotic Weapon Master has Uncanny Blow, which essentially works the same, except that Exotic Weapon Master says "2 instead of 1.5", rather than "an additional 0.5", whereas the Disciple's ability basically says "another 0.5".

"But wait, AKK," I hear you cry, "Greataxes aren't exotic!" You're right. They're not. However, Complete Adventurer introduced the Longaxe, which "counts" as a Greataxe(at least, for the Weapon Focus/Specialisation trees). The only thing that is a bit iffy is whether this counts for the Powerful Grip ability(which might require DM approval). Anyways...

Total Pre-requisites:
Skills: Craft (Weaponsmithing) 3 ranks, Intimidate 4 ranks, Survival 8 ranks
BAB: 4/6
Feats: Exotic Weapon Proficiency(Longaxe), Weapon Focus (Longaxe/Greataxe), Cold Endurance or Cold Subtype

The Weapon Focus overlaps, so we only need Exotic Weapon Proficiency and Cold Endurance. Alternatively, we can get the Cold Subtype while raging if we take the Feat Frozen Berserker.

Preliminary Build:
Human Barbarian 1-5
Disciple of Thrym 1
Exotic Weapon Master 1
Disciple of Thrym 2-3

Feats: Exotic Weapon Proficiency(Longaxe)L1, Weapon Focus(Longaxe)Hu, Cold Endurance/Frozen BerserkerL3, Level 6 and 9 feats open(Fiery Berserker from Sandstorm is a nice complement, making you immune to both Fire and Cold while raging)

At ECL 7(DoT1/EWM1), you get 2*Strength to your attacks with Longaxe.
At ECL 9(DoT3/EWM1), you get 2.5*Strength to attacks with Longaxe.

Apart from the obvious(Longaxe may/doesn't count for Greataxe Powerful Grip without DM fiat), does that look right?

I hate cortisol. I fully blame the stress hormones for buggering my reading comprehension.

Bears With Lasers
2007-03-20, 04:59 AM
If the longaxe specifically says it counts as a greataxe for focus/specialization, this doesn't work. Otherwise, it's nice.

2007-03-20, 05:11 AM
Well sadly, it says "A character proficient with the Longaxe can treat it as a Greataxe for the following feats, and lists Improved Critical, Weapon Focus/Specialisation(and Greater). Would have been nice if it had been "for all effects". :( Still, it's something to think about, if one can persuade the DM that the 2 are similar enough. The stats are pretty much identical, except the Longaxe has the option of being used for Reach if you Power Attack, and even the fluff says it "looks like a Greataxe with a longer handle".

2007-03-20, 05:21 AM
Another problem is that Uncanny Blow works only with one-handed exotic weapons while Longaxe is two-handed.

2007-03-20, 05:33 AM
Damn, didn't notice that. That totally scuppers it then. :(

2007-03-20, 05:43 AM
Well, there is another way to get 2.5x your strength bonus by ECL 4 (possibly 3), but it involves savage species, so it's unlikely to work in a real campaign.

Thri-keen, ecl 4 for psionic version or 3 for nonpsionic, with the rules for wielding a weapon with more than two arms. You have four, you add .5x per arm after the first, so you have 2.5x your strength bonus. You do have to have the weapon specially made, but it's the same as masterwork.

2007-03-20, 05:52 AM
I was specifically trying to avoid Savage Species. The build was almost perfect, apart from the Longaxe/Greataxe transparency(which was more transluscent), and the fact that Uncanny Blow required the weapon be normally wieldable in 1 hand. Oh well, back to the drawing board.

Fax Celestis
2007-03-20, 10:02 AM
*waits for someone to recommend monkey grip so you could wield it in one hand so he may smack them upside the head.*

Of course, if you use weapon sizing rules, you could use a small greataxe in one hand...

2007-03-20, 04:17 PM
*waits for someone to recommend monkey grip so you could wield it in one hand so he may smack them upside the head.*

Of course, if you use weapon sizing rules, you could use a small greataxe in one hand...

Still won't work with uncanny blow, unfortunately.

2007-03-20, 09:20 PM
You'd need a small Longaxe to qualify, probably. Although that's more of a "creative" reading of "one-handed".