PDA

View Full Version : Player Help Paladin's Charisma dependency

Tarvil
2014-11-17, 07:39 PM
Hello,

My playgroup needed another guy with weapon in party, so I decided to try paladin (Oath of the Ancients as I like flavour of "Green Knight"). I started to plan optimal feat combination and found out, that I can't have three feats* and 20 Charisma at the same time. I'm thinking about throwing out Resilience, but I have no idea how important is that save in 5 ed.

So here is my question, what is more important, proficiency in CON saves or better bonus from CHA stat? Or maybe I shouldn't take dmg oriented feat, and have both? It's important, as I'm not sure about my final CON stat (odd number or even).

* CON Resilience, Sentinel and Polearm Master/Great Weapon Master/etc

PS: I'm sorry for my english, I'm not really good at languages ;)

MaxWilson
2014-11-17, 07:44 PM
Is this point-buy or 4d6 drop lowest?

You can certainly have a variant human who starts with a 15 Charisma, boosted to 16, and then gets +2 Charisma twice. He'll have four feats to spare, three of which can be Resilient(Con)/Sentinel/Polearm Master, thus leaving one feat free for +2 STR (total 18 STR).

P.S. No apologies needed for your English. Many people speak other languages on the Internet. Besides, your English is just fine.

Tarvil
2014-11-17, 07:47 PM
It's point buy. We don't really like rolling stats.

I didn't plan to have STR stat lower than 20. It seems quite crucial to have this maxed.

MaxWilson
2014-11-17, 08:00 PM