PDA

View Full Version : What has caused you to walk away from a game?

Crake
2014-11-28, 02:19 AM
What actions have DMs done to make you walk away from a game, possibly one you had invested a fair amount of time into?

Personally, I had been playing in a game for 2 years, over a frankly embarrassing number of characters (i believe i got up to my 9th character, at most, other players had been through 3 characters) due to them dying in irretrievable ways, and then eventually me just becoming distanced from the game and just taking each death as an opportunity to try something new. The game was severely railroaded and controlled, I felt like we were just bystanders in the DMs story, where nothing we did had any meaningful impact, and the plot just drove itself.

All of that I could handle though, it was fine, whatever, spend an evening with friends and have fun, who cares.

Then I found out that the DM was specifically noping most of my ideas and requests for spells/whatnot, because I was "the minmaxer". This, despite the party having a druid, 2 clerics (one of which used divine metamagic) and a 30 or so strength melee brute. I mean, sure, I was playing a wizard, but in a group like that. The prime example would be when i asked for greater resistance (the +3 for 24 hours one) and the DM said no, even though it would take up one of my limited spells known, then one or two sessions later the druid asks for it, and he lets the druid have it, along with every other spell on his spell list. Other things involve gaseous creatures making it through wall of air, or not being blown away by control winds, or poisonous gasses making it through my Iot7v veil which block gasses, not being able to identify creatures on my 40 or so knowledge checks on a loremaster.