PDA

View Full Version : Sorcerer Spell exchange question

Morgan_Scott82
2007-03-26, 04:59 PM
This is what I expect to be a fairly simple question however as I've had very little experience with Sorcerers in the past I've never thought about it. Now I have a player who's elected to play a sorcerer and it may become significant I thought I would appeal to the judgment of the forum public.

At higher levels, sorcerers are able to exchange old spells that may no longer be useful (like Sleep or Color Spray) for other spells of the same level.

The SRD states:

Upon reaching 4th level, and at every even-numbered sorcerer level after that (6th, 8th, and so on), a sorcerer can choose to learn A new spell in place of one he already knows. In effect, the sorcerer “loses” the old spell in exchange for the new one. The new spell’s level must be the same as that of the spell being exchanged, and it must be at least two levels lower than the highest-level sorcerer spell the sorcerer can cast. A sorcerer may swap only a single spell at any given level, and must choose whether or not to swap the spell at the same time that he gains new spells known for the level. Emphasis mine

Is that A singular as in a sorcerer may exchange ONE spell at fouth level and ONE additional spell at each even level or is that A more general meaning the sorcerer can exchange as many spells as he wants as long as the spells being exchanged meets the other requirements (exchanged for a spell of the same level, and two levels lower than the highest level spell he can cast)?

Jasdoif
2007-03-26, 05:01 PM
You can exchange a single spell at the appropriate levels.

Morgan_Scott82
2007-03-26, 05:06 PM
Wow, its explicitly stated in the text I quoted. I feel like a moron. I read that several times and missed it every single one, I guess its easy to overlook something when you have an enthusiastic player arguing the against you.

Thanks.

Fax Celestis
2007-03-26, 05:24 PM