PDA

View Full Version : Player Help Using Diplomacy to erase someone's name.

Iwasforger03
2014-12-26, 12:46 AM
So, I've been looking at unusual ways to accomplish something. I've also been looking at ways to gain certain mostly story effect powers through unconventional means, or through mechanics or abilities I already possess, using characters who aren't supposed to have powers of that nature.

I have a paladin with a +40 diplomacy. This is 3.5 campaign converted to Pathfinder. I have 10 levels in the Kensei prestige class. I have a charisma of 18. I am level 18. max ranks in class skill gives me a 21. + 4 charisma, +10 kensai, magic ring +5=+40.

I want to figure out how theoretically high a diplomacy I would need to persuade Existence Itself to forget someone's name. Or at least persuade the ranking Deific figure (the overgod who created creation, etc.) to strip them of their name.

I figure there will be extra story conditions the DM might impose, but, if it were theoretically possible, what kind of diplomacy score would I need to achieve it?

RedMage125
2014-12-26, 01:11 AM
If you're referring to Truename of a creature (assuming your DM is using that concept), I don't think Diplomacy itself can do that. I also don't think Diplomacy can affect an ephemeral concept such as Reality Itself.

The only time I've ever heard of "name-erasing" being done was in the Lady Penitent series of novels, and it took Elven High Magic (which, by the RAW is a form of Epic Magic), and was accomplished against a demigod. They used the Epic Spell to remove all knowledge of her name from every creature in existence, for about 5 minutes. Which was enough to kill the demigod in question, because for a moment, she had no worshippers.

Forrestfire
2014-12-26, 01:13 AM
There's also a 9th-level spell that removes someone's truename from existence (and them with it).

Iwasforger03
2014-12-26, 02:44 AM